Life as a freelance make-up artist

You may think that being a make-up artist is just about make-up application… its not! In fact approx 80% of my time is dedicated to looking for work. I search different websites daily, I am constantly involved in social media, updating my facebook page, website, tweeting, and of course bloging! I search for local talent who I have yet to work with, comment on their work and get my name out as much as possible. Because I am focused on the T.V and film industry I also send emails to studios and other contacts of interest that I come across. It is important to me to keep up to date with current trends, as well as expressing my own style. I enjoy window shopping for inspiration, as well as art, dance and music. As a Pro member at MAC I also attend their Master class’s, I enjoy being surrounded by other mua’s since it is rare to have that many in one room. Most young make-up artist will have a second job, some work at the cosmetic counters other work for companies who hire them for weddings. Mine is dog sitting… A little off course but this way I get to spend more time researching and promoting myself. Today I have three dogs and they are a little wired so its time to go for a walk…

 

