Help Portrait Vancouver

behind the scenes at help portrait vancouver

Help Portrait Vancouver – Amanda Bond

The other week I volunteered for Help Portrait Vancouver. Help-Portrait is a movement of photographers, make-up and hair artists who are using their time, equipment and expertise to give back to those who are less fortunate. The goal is simple; find someone in need, take their portrait, print their portrait and deliver them. 

It was a really good day and I met a lot of lovely people. One lady in particular called Renee was very grateful for us to do her hair and make-up. She said that she was a drug addict and that she was no longer allowed to see her daughter. She hoped that she could give her daughter one of the photos that she will receive today.

Renee managed to stay a few years clean but after “something happened” (she didnt say what) she fell back in the path of drugs and is still struggling. She seemed like a lovely person, very out going and fun. It was a good day but also a little sad, it reminded me about all the things that I take for granted and how fortunate I really am, even Renee said today; “Its not like I want to be a drug addict!, when I was 11 I didn’t say hey when I’m older I want to be a drug addict” 

Behind the scenes at Help Portrait Vancouver - Amanda Bond

Behind the Scenes at Help Portrait Vancouver – Amanda Bond

This Christmas lets be grateful for the things that we do have instead of focusing on what we don’t have…

Now that Tiffany & Co key pendant that I wanted for Christmas seems pretty pointless…

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Photography; Ivy Cheng

