What being beautiful means to me

So by now we have all probably seen the recent video of Miley Cyrus parading around in an awful outfit with her tongue sticking out of her head. Is this how 20 year olds act? Is that what I was like?

40 year old woman are having facelifts and dressing like 20 year olds and 20 year olds are acting and dressing like… well who the hell knows.

My point is why can’t we just except ourselves and be happy with who we are and what we look like. Where does this need to fit in come from? -The need to look and be beautiful.

A lot of people believe that beauty is only skin deep, but I believe that beauty comes from within. In order for us to see ourselves as beautiful in the mirror we have to first feel beautiful on the inside, we have to believe that we are beautiful, we have to love ourselves as a person, before we can expect others to love us. How can you expect anyone to respect you if you don’t respect yourself? It’s the same for beauty; how can you expect others to think you are beautiful when you don’t see yourself as beautiful.

If you think that by having a particular eye shape or a bigger pouty lip is what will make you beautiful – well then you have missed my point. Beauty is much deeper than that. I don’t have the biggest breasts and always wanted them to be bigger. One day I simply asked myself; why? Would bigger breasts really make me look and feel more beautiful? Maybe for a short period of time, but the feeling will sure to wear off and then I will find myself looking for something else to change, that will make me more beautiful, and so on and so on…

I think we need to look at ourselves and decide what type of person we want to be.  As a make-up artist I have to think about what type of artist I want to be, and how I want others to view me and my work. I have boundaries on what I will and won’t do. I make a conscious effort to give back to my community though charity work. I promote brands and products that I love and would never use or recommend a product that I didn’t believe in.

What kind of person do you want to be? Someone who looks pretty on the outside, and is constantly searching for acceptance or someone who is happy, proud and confident with whom they are. I think that no amount of lipstick or surgery could ever make you feel truly beautiful.  Remember, nobody wants to see mutton dressed as lamb.

 

❤ amanda.

