Seeking Happiness

I was talking to a close friend the other day that has been separated from her husband for the past 10 months. She was still very emotional and struggling to come to terms with the end of her 15 year marriage.

It saddens me to see how upset she was; especially since I know how hard she works, how loyal, caring and selfless she is.

When my mother passed away she came to stay with my family; take some of the stress away from my poor Dad and keep my brother and I busy.

She works 6 days a week to support her two amazing children, she is a wonderful mother, a loving friend who tried so hard for years to keep her marriage going.

But sometimes you just need to let go, sometimes things don’t work out the way we would like them to, and instead of regretting the past and stressing about the future, we forget to live for right now!

It’s easy for me to tell her that she shouldn’t feel guilty, that she has done the best she could, and not to be so hard on herself, but things are always easier said than done, and I have never been in her situation so it is hard for me to even imagine the pain and guilt that she feels.

I don’t know what to do and I don’t know what to say. All she can do is believe all the people that are telling her, “It’s not your fault”.

To overcome emotional situations like this, it’s all up to the person in the situation – it’s a state of mind. You need to make a conscious decision to stop being down on yourself. What’s done is done and now it’s time to move on and seek happiness.

I was unhappy for a very long time, and one day I just decided that I can’t go on anymore, I located what is was in my life that was preventing me from being happy -from being MYSELF! And after 19 years of living with pain, I finally sought help, and now I can’t believe it took me so long, but at least I didn’t leave it for another day, another year. Today I am truly happy and promise to never put myself down again.

You can be happy too –But first you have to believe you can.
Lots of Love.
Amanda. ❤ Tom + Amanda Bond

 

 

Photo:

Me with my husband Tom, who I met right as I decided to
seek my happiness, and leave my past in the past.

